I am tearing up.  This video is such a timely reminder.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=8B0C9Rm7VGQ

It’s not saying you can do this thing you’re planning on doing because Christ, the source of all power, is in you. There is a lot of nuisance in that.  What it’s saying is that you can do all things – holistically… in near and distant futures, because Christ is in you.  It’s still a marriage contract:  For richer or for poorer, in sickness and in health, for better or for worse; you and Christ are inseparable. That’s the promise of Romans 8 – that nothing can separate us from the love of Christ.  We can be rich, we can be poor.  We can be sick, we can be healthy.  We can be in good shape, we can be in a spiral downward.  In whichever situation, you KNOW you can surpass it and go beyond it.  You can outlast it because you KNOW that Christ is in you.  He is your identity.  Not the sickness nor the health will define your being.  Only Christ. 

I say it is a timely reminder because I am now in debt —  Deep credit card debt I never anticipated.  The timing of this debt couldn’t be worse.  It is sandwiched between my May phone upgrade (which entailed me to loan from a friend – another wrong decision), and my October / November overseas trips.

Today, I met an old church friend who offered an opportunity to earn extra income.  It’s strangely enticing in a peaceful way and I’m thinking that this may be God’s answer to 2 prayer items (one of which is debt, yes).  Still, I don’t want to do anything impulsive or worse, sinful.  I don’t want this to be a pride or a greed root.

It’s just comforting to see how God works in the good times and the bad – most especially the bad.  The world and all your negative circumstances will let you forget who you are in Christ but just as Philippians 4 just told us, you can claim power and confidence over the world because Christ is in you.  It’s so consistent with other promises from God when He said, “take heart for I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).

I look forward to that day when I become Philippine-peso-debt-free for I know that right now, I’m spiritually free – and that’s one that required a price I can never loan nor repay.

