Masterchef US, Season 4.

image

I have never followed this show.  There was a time in Season 3 where it would catch my eye while channel-surfing.  I mean, seeing blind Christine cook is amazing. However, it wasn’t enough for me to actually see the show religiously… not until my brother expressed his joy with the “latest season of Masterchef.”  So, I went online and got myself the first episode of season 4, to which my brother says that is not the season he’s watching.  MEH. I WATCH IT ANYWAY.  Now, I’m hooked.  I now understand why my ex-colleagues in the advertising agency loved this show.  It is deeply entertaining and here are the top 10 reasons why I think it is:

1.  Joe.  THE Joe Bastianich.

image

This guys puts the S in “serious.”  He puts it in “straightforward,” too. Did I mention “stare-down,” as well?

image

He calls it as he sees it and he is not shy about it.  I mean, I couldn’t recall a time in the competition when he smiled.  Is it an Italian thing?  I doubt it.  I think that’s just his signature mark and I don’t mind it because he can wear a suit-and-sneakers ensemble and still look nice.

2.  Food.  Here are some of the most memorable so far…

THE GOOD:

image

image

image

image

AND THE UGLY:

image

image

image

image

3.  Comedy.  Funny lines.

There are lots.  But here’s a funny one from the judges themselves:
Gordon joins the contestants in a mystery box challenge.  He gets some leaves and begins to chop them.

Gram:  What herbs are those, chef?
Gordon: Bah-sil.
Gram (to Joe):  Bah-sil is actually pronounced bay-sil here in the US.
Joe: Mmmm.
Gram:  I wonder if he’ll go for the ore-GAH-no.
Joe: but he has no to-MAH-toes.

LOL!

4.  Drama.

image
Ladies and gentlemen, meet Krissy.  She’s an angry woman.

image

She’s the one causing most of the drama.  That’s cause she always fights people who just do something that irritates her.   And it could be the littlest of things.  I don’t think it’s helping her reputation on American TV.  Below, is one of the most unexpected scenes from the series.  Bri, seemingly soft-spoken Bri, stands up to Krissy.

image

5.  Team Challenges.  I like the idea of putting everyone on a test during teamwork.  I get to pick out points on leadership – what to avoid and what not to avoid.  I get just glimpses of it because the editors edit our parts (well, duh!).  However, I still learn from these team challenges.

Here’s one where they cooked for over 300 children.

image

Learning:  Leaders make it work.  No matter what the audience perceives it to be.  Leaders make it work.  A bit of a spoiler here, but for this challenge, the red team made chicken teriyaki, which the kids didn’t know. They ended up winning.

Here’s another one where they cooked for the cast and crew of Glee.  Cory was still alive. Sad smile

image

image

6.  Eye Candy – pretty people. ‘Nuff said.

image

image

image

image

7.  Gordon.  He is the show.  In this season, it seems as though he has toned down.  I take that back.  His mouth gets all the bleepage in every episode.

image

8.  The SET – oh boy, that pantry!

image

image

image

image

image

image

9.  The suspense.  How Gordon announces who’s in and who’s out.  I can’t capture this in a screenshot.  You’ll just have to see it for yourself.

10.  Placing bets.  It is still a competition, and I like rooting for someone to win.  It makes me more attached to the show, I guess.  For this season, my top three include: Jessie, James and Jordan.  But Bri and Eddie MAY surprise me.  I still have my money on Jessie.  I hope she wins!

image

