It was in 2008 when I discovered the purpose of a Google Reader. (Yeah, I know, I’m such a noob.)  I was working as a traffic reporter and had a lot of free time in between reports — time spent either on Facebook, Twitter or on careless online surfing.  The latter had me opening up a lot of tabs in my browser and when they became all too much to bookmark, I got curious with the “Subscribe” buttons.  *Click* Thus began my relationship with my Reader.

But even though I’ve been subscribing to and reading a lot of blogs, both local and foreign, I was never really motivated to start my own blog. I had an idea for one but found it hard to sustain so I dumped it.  And until now, writing pains me.  So I ask myself, “Why push it? Why ride along the trend?”

Books. Yes, books.

Just recently, I’ve been catching up on reading.  Real, hard copy books.  After watching Elizabeth Gilbert on TED.com, I just had to read her book, “Eat, Pray, Love.”  IT WAS LIFE CHANGING!  The book’s effect on me is another story, but what I realized was how much I’ve been missing from not reading books.  Hence, I’ve decided to invest a portion of my monthly salary to books.  Because in between the pages of those tightly-bound, digitally-encoded, computer-generated hard copies of writers’ minds, lies my personal key to simple joy and tranquility.

So my return to book-reading has rekindled my love for writing.

Currently, I’m reading Trenton Lee Stewart’s “The Mysterious Benedict Society.” It’s a children’s book reminiscent of the Potter series with a dash of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  I’m halfway through it after two days, which means the book has its own charm and is quite promising.

What I'm reading now.

I guess I’ll be finished with this one by Wednesday. After which I plan to read Malcolm Gladwell’s “Outliers.”

So this whole online endeavor is really an aftereffect of an old-school love: reading books.  What about you? Read any good books lately?

